You are here

The basic goal of the project is to set up a network of international partners to encourage Active Travel in cities as appropriate means of transport for short trips to tackle environmental problems.  

The project aims to tackle transport problems caused by solo car use in small/medium sized cities by motivating walking/cycling (NMT). In view of the economic crisis and steadily increasing oil prices NMT is a sensible alternative to using cars for short trips in cities. Furthermore, the project contributes to reducing fossil energy and CO2. Professional awareness campaigns for decision makers, stakeholders and sitizens are to be worked out and put into practice in the porject period. Increasing NMT for short trips in cities should also lead to better health of people. The local economy especially shops in city centres can benefit from a higher frequency of pedestrians and people going by bike.

To ensure an effictive impact of network activities on local policies, each partner is obliged to set up an URBACT local Support Group (ULSG). These groups will involve the key stakeholders concerned and act as a steering committee for the action plan in the sexond phase of the project.

See complete overviewSee results

Latest articles


Project launch
Project completed

Integrated Action Plans

Within an Action Planning Network, the Integrated Action Plan is a local output, specific to each city. Thus, the local circumstances, as the concrete actions to be carried out in response to the network's sustainable development challenges, are defined by the URBACT Local Group. This core group is composed by a wide range of relevant stakeholders, who have a stake in the addressed challenge and who play an active role in co-designing the plan alongside the project partner. This document is the result of the interplay between the theme, each city's starting point and its individual URBACT journey. It highlights the positive learning experience cities have undertaken, both from a local and a transnational perspective.
  • Weiz
  • Skanderborg
  • Norderstedt
  • Novara
  • Riccione
  • Graz
  • Ljutomer
  • Sérres